University is giving me little time to finish that Wuthering Heights review, as well as the following post (which it’s already in the making), so… while I work on that, here you have a small contribution like the one posted last week. This time, also inspired by events transpired in Twitter.

At some point, the account @HollowCrownFans (created in honour to the magnificent BBC adaptation of Shakespeare’s Henriad) inaugurated a lovely tradition dubbed ‘Shakespeare Sunday’. It consists on people from all over the world sharing quotes on Shakespearean plays and poems each Sunday through their Twitter profiles. As of late, these special Sundays also come with a concrete theme. I have been participating for a couple of months now, sharing my favourite quotes in that regard and learning some new ones. I hope they don’t mind me writing about it here.

So… today is Sunday – Shakespeare Sunday! – and the theme proposed was “power and leadership”. This immediately brought to mind Henry IV (Part 1 and 2) and Henry V, the two (or three) works of the Henriad I have recently read for my classes; and, coincidentally, what I planned to write about after Wuthering Heights. Some of my selected quotes had already been used (oh, Saint Crispin’s Day speech), so I chose the scene in which Prince Hal and the rebel Harry Percy ‘Hotspur’ confront one another in the battlefield. It’s one of more intense moments in this first part of Henry IV, also gorgeously depicted in The Hollow Crown series. I must say, Prince Hal – Harry, future Henry V – has already become one of my favourite Shakespearean characters.

Until we talk about it more thoroughly, here you have the quote. This is a longer version than the one I used in Twitter, for obvious reasons – the fateful encounter between Prince Hal and the leader of the rebellion.


HOTSPUR
If I mistake not, thou art Harry Monmouth.

PRINCE
Thou speak’st as if I would deny my name.

HOTSPUR
My name is Harry Percy.

PRINCE
Why, then I see
A very valiant rebel of the name.
I am the Prince of Wales; and think not, Percy,
To share with me in glory any more:
Two stars keep not their motion in one sphere;
Nor can one England brook a double reign,
Of Harry Percy and the Prince of Wales.

HOTSPUR
Nor shall it, Harry; for the hour is come
To end the one of us; and would to God
Thy name in arms were now as great as mine!

PRINCE
I’ll make it greater ere I part from thee;
And all the budding honours on thy crest
I’ll crop, to make a garland for my head.


Hmmm, exciting. The duel performed by Tom Hiddleston and Joe Armstrong in The Hollow Crown just grips my heart with expectation, even if I know how everything ends. (“I am the Prince of Wales!”)
I might also share my contributions to Shakespeare Sunday in the blog hereafter, who knows. ✽

Leave a Reply

